Scholarship Stories: Nick Brown (CDM ’14)

16 Aug

Support from alumni and friends helps DePaul University admit and retain exemplary students, regardless of family income. Scholarships remove some of the financial burden that students shoulder and allow them to focus on their futures. Nick has big plans to write, produce and direct in Los Angeles after completing his degree in Digital Cinema—a dream made possible thanks to generous donors.

“The fact that alumni and friends give to DePaul speaks volumes to me. It makes you realize how special this community is, and how much I value my experiences here. My time at DePaul has inspired me to believe that I can accomplish my goals.”

For every scholarship DePaul grants, there is an inspiring story tied to a deserving student. As a student worker and scholarship recipient himself, Nick understands the transformational power of philanthropic support.

“Not long ago my parents adopted three young foster children, which made me focus on being a good example for them. When my family learned that I received a generous scholarship, it showed them that hard work in school does pay off.”

Nick’s scholarship may reach beyond his own education. He plans to pay forward the gift many alumni and friends have given him.

“My sister Amelia is only six but is already set on coming to DePaul. She and I made a deal that I would help fund her education. She wants to be a doctor so that will be a big investment. My scholarship, combined with my parents’ support, has been one of the greatest gifts I’ve received. To be able to give that gift to my sister would be amazing.”

This is the second in a series of stories focusing on DePaul scholarship recipients and how they benefit from the generosity of DePaul alumni and friends. Visit giving.depaul.edu to learn more about how you can help students like Nick.

Leave a Reply

